Blushing by Katie Delahanty **Review**

Synopsis

Berkeley Dalton is my sexy-as-hell rock star boyfriend, and he just proposed to me—only I can’t tell anyone about it. He’s starring in a new movie with his (obviously gorgeous) ex-girlfriend, and the two are expected to “reunite” for the public. Which means no one can know his heart is still with me.

As filming gets under way, Berkeley and I are forced to lie, sneak around, and lie some more to protect our secret engagement. To make matters worse, someone is trying really hard to break us up. And while I love Berkeley, I’m starting to wonder exactly who he is…and who I am. If I can’t survive the red carpet, how the hell will I make it down the aisle?

Add to your Goodreads shelf

Purchase from one of the following retailers:

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Barnes&Noble
Google Play Books

About The Author

Katie is a fashion designer turned novelist. She graduated with a BA in Communication Studies from UCLA and a Professional Designation in Fashion Design from FIDM. It never occurred to her that she was a writer until an economic crisis induced career shift from lingerie designer to ecommerce webmistress led her to start the company blog. Not being an expert in lingerie, she decided to write the blog as a fictional serial starring a girl named Olivia Bloom who worked for the lingerie line. And that’s when Katie fell in love with storytelling. She hasn’t looked back since. Katie lives in Los Angeles with her husband.
Connect with her:

Website
Twitter

 

My Review

Rating: 5 Wine Glasses!!!

Disclaimer: I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed forthwith are my own and haven’t been influenced by the author or the publishing company in any way.

First off, let me say two things. One, I am kicking myself for not having read In Bloom before reading Blushing, but obviously I wasn’t paying attention to good books a while back. And two, I did not expect this book to be so good. Blushing was refreshing, it’s not everyday you start reading a romance novel where the couple is already pretty much established. Blushing was fabulous. I stayed up through the night to read it and when i was done, i immediately took to Twitter, because I had to gush about this book.

And that’s exactly what this book is. It’s gushy (is that even a word?), it’s funny and it’s a fantastic fun, feel-good read. I laughed through so many pages, I cried through a few parts and I admit, I had my doubts about the hero. Katie Delahanty managed to completely convince me that at one stage he was the bad guy. I was happy that this book did not essentially follow the “romance novel rules”. It did it’s best to keep the book funny and light, being essentially a chick-lit book, but it had an element of unpredictability, that I was happy to encounter.

I loved the “tweets” at the start of each chapter, it showed little tidbits of the heroine’s life that the reader wouldn’t have encountered any other way. It was a refreshing way to start each chapter and I started  looking forward to reading them every time I got to the end of a chapter. Olivia’s voice perfectly captured what I think an average NA female should act, speak, think and sound like.

This book was one of the more entertaining romance/chick-lit books I have read in a while, so much so that I struggled to read anything else for about three days after reading this book. I’ll happy reread it (after reading In Bloom, of course) and I’m patiently (translation:consistently stalking Entangled Publishing and KatieDelahanty’s websites) waiting for the next in The Brightside Series.

What's your thoughts?

