Can We Please Start A Fandom For Djinn by Laura Catherine?

It’s FRIDAY Bookishlovers! And what better way to celebrate Friday than a spotlight, review, author interview and giveaway all in one post? Nothing much can top that. It’s been a week since I read this book and i am still raving about, which is why we need to make a fandom for it, like right now. Because it sucks being the only one who knows the awesomeness that is Djinn. This is how I felt after reading the book and realizing people don’t know about it:

So seriously, let’s get started!

Synopsis

Kyra’s life is far from normal.

She’s been on the run for as long as she can remember and her father is the only stable thing in her life, but everything changes when the people pursuing them finally catch up.

Kyra is abducted by the handsome and mysterious, Will. He takes her to a secret compound where she is told the truth: She’s a Djinn, a genie-like creature with super powers and a love of dogs.

Kyra has to adjust to the Djinn and their rules, but her new life is far from perfect. Everyone is hiding something and the one person Kyra cares about most is forbidden to her.

There are secrets around every corner and more dangers than Kyra could ever imagine as she struggles to find herself and be with the one she loves.

***

How awesome is that cover??

About The Author

Laura Catherine is Young Adult author focusing on Paranormal Romance, Dystopia, and Fantasy.

She writes stories full of action, secrets, and magic. She loves creating worlds where anything is possible and everyone has a story to tell. She has an over-active imagination, spends a lot of her time daydreaming, and wishes pokemon were real so she would have one.

Laura Catherine lives in Melbourne, Australia.

You can check her out on her Website or on Twitter

***

Excerpt

“Ufffgh,” I moaned as I landed hard.

I blinked, trying to focus on the clear blue sky above me. Shooting pain ran from my shoulder to my lower back. It really was a beautiful autumn morning, warmer than usual, which I would have enjoyed a whole lot more if I didn’t keep getting thrown to the ground.

“You need to keep your guard up, kiddo,” Dad said.

I flicked my eyes from the sky to him standing over me, his hand extended to help me up. I smiled, despite the pain, and took his hand willingly.

“My guard was up,” I complained. “You used a cheat move.”

I folded my arm across my chest as Dad’s mouth broke into a wide grin. Despite being in his late forties, he looked really good for his age. He was fit and muscular, even though he had a slight limp from some old injury and a crooked nose that I thought made him look handsome. Only a few wrinkles around his brown eyes and his greying hair gave his real age away.

“Not everyone will fight fair,” he said and I knew he was right … again, but I’d never tell him that.

He picked up two long sticks and threw one to me. I caught it in one hand and took up a fighting stance, just as he taught me: feet apart and hands up, ready to defend yourself. We were practicing in the front yard of our house, an old weatherboard built place that looked more run down then it was. The paint was peeling, and every board seemed to creak when you stepped on it, like some sort of eerie orchestra. It barely kept the heat in, but it was home … for now.

“Very good.” Dad nodded at my stance. “But your feet should be further apart.”

I groaned, knowing he was only doing it to bug me, but I moved my right foot an inch further back to please him.

“Good,” he said. “Ready?”

“To see you fall on your ass? Hell yes.”

He stepped forward to strike from above and I raised my stick to block. The sticks made a clunking sound as they smacked together, and the noise rang in my head after the fall I’d had. Dad spun his stick to strike from the side, but I anticipated and slid my feet like a dancer out of the way, moving the stick to protect my ribs.

“Nice footwork,” he praised.

“You want me to say it’s because you fixed my stance, don’t you?” I replied, striking low.

He blocked and countered with a flick to my side. I winced, but composed myself quickly.

“Don’t lose concentration,” he said in his husky drill sergeant voice. “But if you wish to thank me, you can.”

That was so like Dad. He got really serious about his training, but he still knew how to keep it light. I thought he would have been a great leader in another life, both strong and inspiring. Who knows, maybe he was.

We sparred for half an hour and, as usual, I was hit more times than I cared to admit while Dad remained mostly unscathed.

He’d been training me since I was thirteen. You’d think, after working at it for four years, I’d be able to hit him by now. I guess it came down to that whole no-one’s-better-than-their-mentor thing.

He must have been a soldier before I was born; he’s just too good, but then I see the various scars he’s always tried to hide running down his body and wonder who gave them to him. Who could be better than my dad?

“You’re doing better,” he said, patting me on the back. He leaned over, out of breath, or maybe his leg was hurting him. Dad didn’t like to whine; he’d rather fight it out in silence.

I put my hands on my hips. “Better?” I shook my head, and slivers of my long brown locks fell from my ponytail. “Look at this muscle.” I flexed my arms and pouted my lips.

“All skinny muscle,” Dad corrected, waving his finger. “You’re only seventeen, Kyra. You’re still growing into your body.”

I dropped my arms and screwed up my face. “Dad. Gross.”

He chuckled. “It’s true. You’ll be a woman soon—”

“Whoa, whoa!” I put up hands in defence. “Let’s not have another talk about me or my womanliness. It’s like when I got my period all over again.”

“That was worse for me than it was for you.” He pretended to shiver at the memory. “Come on, let’s go for a run.”

“Dad, I can see you’re in pain. Can’t we just skip the run today?” I said, more for his benefit than mine.

Dad stood up straight to show he was okay. “You’re not getting out of it that easily.” He started hobbling down the driveway, and I could only shake my head. He was the most stubborn person I knew—besides myself, of course. We would run until our legs fell off if it meant beating the others.

“Don’t hurt yourself, old man,” I called and ran after him.

*Excerpt taken from Laura’s website.

My Review

Rating: 5 extremely full wineglasses. (It’s just that awesome)

Disclaimer: I received this book form the author in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.

Holy heck, was this book amazing or what? It went right off the chart for me. I’ve read my fair share of YA books, but never have I been so infatuated and enthralled by one than I was with this one. Let’s face it, most YA books are either dystopian, have vampires, werewolves, witches or zombie and they all feature at least one tortured soul and a love triangle. But not Djinn.

I loved this book and I started raving about it to people around me and on Facebook while I was still reading it. The plot was completely different from what I expected, the characters leaped off the pages and invaded my life throughout the time I spent reading this book. Hell, the characters became a part of my life.

Kyra our protagonist and extremely kick-ass heroine, is just that: KICK-ASS. I adore a strong female character and Kyra is exactly what I look for when reading. She knows how to look after herself, can kick butt from here to Mars, she’s independent and stubborn and she prefers to do things her way, but she’s not afraid to ask for help when she needs. She’s protective over those she cares about and my heart broke when I found she was betrayed by the one person she’d always loved the most. She’s tentative to show people she cares and loves them, because she went out of her way not to let people get close to her, but when she does, you can actually feel what she feels. It’s been a while since I admired a female character like I do Kyra.

I would go on and on about the male characters featured in this book, but I’m sure the minute I show people which guy I’m rooting for, the world will come down on me and slash me to pieces. All I can say is that the guys in this book are all amazingly written and well-rounded and they all sound super hunky!

This book was such an experience to read and I still get heart palpitations thinking about the ending, which, by the way, how could you, Laura Catherine?? I could go on raving about this book and dissecting every word of it until I’m blue in the face and my fingers fall of from typing, but I won’t because YOU HAVE TO READ IT!!!

***

Hi Laura, thank you for joining me today and answering some questions. I loved reading your book and I really cannot wait for the sequel.

1. I found the story so unique and I am burning to know how you came up with the idea?

Thanks for having me Monique. I’m so glad you enjoyed Djinn.

Well, I’d been toying with the idea of writing a Paranormal Romance for a while, but I didn’t want it to be about the usual creatures like vampires or werewolves. At the time I was working at a bakery and one afternoon I was washing wires out the back. I love doing repetitive tasks to free up my mind. I was casually thinking about different creatures that didn’t really appear in novels and BAM it hit me: Djinn. I didn’t know much about them at the time but as soon as that idea stuck the story began to unravel in my mind

2.I like how you strayed from the traditional YA norm and instead of making a love triangle, it started forming some sort of square. Did you plan it like that?

Haha, I actually really don’t like love triangles. But, no, it wasn’t planned at all. Originally Pyke wasn’t even such a main character, but the more I wrote him the more I realised how amazing he was and I loved writing scenes with him and Kyra. It sort of evolved from there.

3.Will we be seeing a more romantic relationship between Kyra and Nate in the upcoming books?

I don’t want to give anything away. But I think most people realise what Nate was going to say to Kyra at the ball even if Kyra doesn’t. All I’ll say it that it will be very interesting and complicated.

4.Will Malcolm be making a reappearance?

Of course! There is much more to Malcolm’s story. He’s a great character and I couldn’t just let him fade into the background. Where’s the fun in that? Malcolm will definitely be back to stir up trouble.

5.Since you ended Djinn on one of the biggest cliff hangers I have ever read, please tell me when we can expect the sequel?

I’m glad you liked the cliff hanger. It seems to have had the desired effect on my readers. Everyone keeps asking when the next one will be out. I am currently working on it, but I haven’t thought about a release date yet.

6.What was the hardest part of writing Djinn?

Oh that’s a hard question. Hmmm…I think the ending would have been the hardest part. For those who have read Djinn you’ll know what I’m talking about. I still cry every time I read it. Writing that scene was very difficult for me.

7.Did you have fun writing Djinn?

An unbelievable amount of fun! Djinn is one of those stories that just flowed, I knew exactly what was going to happen next and I couldn’t wait to write it. I suppose that’s why the first draft only took a month to write (though NaNoWriMo helped too).

8.If you had to rewrite the book, would you change anything? And if so, what would you change?

Sometimes I feel like changing the ending. When readers tell me how sad it made them. I almost did change the ending a one point during editing, but I knew in my heart that it had to end that way as much it saddened me.

9.Which books, or authors, would you say have been the most influential in your life?

My two biggest influences would have to be JK Rowling for her imagination and characterization; and Amanda Hocking for the way she pushed herself into self-publishing and did whatever she could to succeed.

10.If you had to write a book about your life, what would be the title?

This one is so hard. Maybe: ‘The Secret Adventures of My Imagination’

Or: ‘Living Under a Pile of Notebooks, an Author’s Tale’. Haha, I don’t know.

***

Laura is also donating 2 ebook copies of Djinn, so click the link to enter:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

You can find Djinn by clicking on the following handy links:

Goodreads
Amazon
Barnes&Noble

8 thoughts on “Can We Please Start A Fandom For Djinn by Laura Catherine?

  1. I agree with Saleana, dragons are great! Though any fantasy/supernatural creature is fine by me! I’m really keen to read this book and the fact that the author lives in Australia just makes everything twice as amazing!

  2. Pingback: Djinn: What People are Saying | Laura Catherine

  3. Pingback: Djinn: What People are Saying - quill wielder

  4. Pingback: Will Power by Laura Catherine ***Review*** | All The Bookish Love

What's your thoughts?

