Annie Seaton’s Summer of The Moon Flower is making me love Steampunk! **Review**

Bookishlovers, let me tell you, I never thought I would fall in love with a genre so fast, but it happened and I’m loving it!

Synopsis

Will love survive the quest for immortality?

Sofia de Vargas’ research into the Alpine Moon flower and its elixir of immortality will threaten the very existence of an ancient Scottish order. Dougal, the Earl of Rothmore must prove his loyalty to his masters, the Knights Templar, and bring her body back to Kilmarnock. Sofia is kidnapped and imprisoned on the isolated Isle of Rothmore.

Is Dougal her sworn enemy…or her saviour?

About The Author

Annie Seaton lives on the beautiful east coast of Australia, where she loves sitting in her writing chair, gazing at the ocean and writing stories. She has always been fascinated by romance and has found her niche writing contemporary romance.
Her debut novel, Holiday Affair, a contemporary romance set in the South Pacific was released as part of Entangled Publishing’s Indulgence line in March. The sequel Italian Affair was published Spring 2013, followed quickly by Outback Affair,Dangerous Desire and Tangling with the CEO!
Blind Lust, is one of Annie’s favorite novels. Despite the title…it is a sweet romance about a witch and her difficult choice between two men.

My Review

Rating: 4 Wine Glasses

My foray into the steampunk genre is turning out to be fantastic. I loved the first novella in this series and I was so happy when this one lived up to my expectations. In fact it completely exceeded them. The mix of steam-powered technology, science, fashion and all the mystery shrouding the Knights Templar made one hell of a combination.

Annie Seaton continues to surprise me with her writing prowess in this genre. I loved the settings she used in this book, taking me from Vienna to The Alps, to Scotland and moving me through time. The way she describes each of the settings had me feeling like I was there in the moment as it happened and not once did I get the sense of “something’s not quite right.”

The characters were fresh and fascinating, for a minute there I wasn’t completely sure whether I could trust Dougal and his manservant, but he won me over in the end. This book once again featured loads of steam-powered thingamajigs and time-travel. I was creeped out by the automaton people, but it added intrigue to the storyline. I would have loved to find out more about the moonflower, but even without extra information it still felt completed.

I can’t wait to read more of this series and even though the wait will be long, with so many of Annie Seaton’s awesome works coming out this year, I know it will be worth the wait.

***

Find this novella on Amazon and Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Annie Seaton’s Summer of The Moon Flower is making me love Steampunk! **Review**

What's your thoughts?

