Steam-powered thingamajigs? I’m loving Annie Seaton’s Winter of The Passion Flower **Review**

Steampunk? What’s that? Well, Bookishlovers, get this novella and you won’t need an explanation anymore!

Synopsis

Sexy heroine seeks captain for time-traveling submarine.

Indigo de Vargas is determined to exhibit her products at the Great Exhibition in Crystal Palace. Her preparations have been thwarted at every turn. Indigo’s only hope is the brooding captain who appears on her doorstep in the midst of a fierce snowstorm offering to navigate her submarine to the Amazon so she can collect passionflowers for her potions and hallucinogenics.

Steam powers more than the submarine on this voyage. Sparks flying between Indigo and her captain may ignite a passion neither can avoid. Ably assisted by quirky servants, brass goggles and inappropriate accoutrements, they must fight those out to foil her mission.

WARNING: Steam and immodest clothing.

About The Author

Annie Seaton lives on the beautiful east coast of Australia, where she loves sitting in her writing chair, gazing at the ocean and writing stories. She has always been fascinated by romance and has found her niche writing contemporary romance.
Her debut novel, Holiday Affair, a contemporary romance set in the South Pacific was released as part of Entangled Publishing’s Indulgence line in March. The sequel Italian Affair was published Spring 2013, followed quickly by Outback Affair,Dangerous Desire and Tangling with the CEO!
Blind Lust, is one of Annie’s favorite novels. Despite the title…it is a sweet romance about a witch and her difficult choice between two men.

My Review

Rating: 4 Wine Glasses

I’m quite new to the steampunk genre, I think I may have read less than five books in my whole life that falls under the steampunk genre, and even then, it wasn’t too steampunk-y because I never really knew what steampunk was until I started reading this book. It was a bad idea, because this novella had me completely hooked to the genre.

While reading this novella, I was utterly awed because the amount of research that must have gone into this work or art bowled me over. I’ve read more than a few of Annie Seaton’s novels and they’ve all managed to wow me, but I think because this was a completely different genre and it didn’t focus so much on the romance element, it just blew me away.

Having a flower play a central part in the book was something I really didn’t expect. Sure it’s in the title, but I really thought that was going to be more of a metaphor. The stuff that Annie writes in this book is so awesome. Holiday biomes, time travelling a strong and wilful female character and a very swoon worthy male man. (And he’s British, so of course, sexy accent).

Mystery, intrigue and all the steam-powered thingamajigs made a brilliant combination.

Find this novella on Goodreads and Amazon

What's your thoughts?

