Like a Dagger to a Witch’s Heart. Andrea R. Cooper had me on the edge of my seat with The Garnet Dagger **Review**

Right now I’m reviewing The Garnet Dagger by Andrea R. Cooper. I love fantasy novels, and I was quite happy to read an outstanding fantasy novel written by a woman, since the fantasy genre is dominated by brilliant male authors, like Raymond E. Feist, Terry Brooks, Terry Goodkind and Terry Pratchett. (Looks like Terry is the best name to have if you want to pursue a career in fantasy writing). But I was pleasantly surprised by this book and I’m sure you all will be too.

Synopsis

Forbidden to cross the Elvin barrier into human lands, Brock cannot sate his curiosity. Cursed by a vampyre bite that forces him to feed on the life-essence of others, he is unable to touch another without taking their life. Chained by prophesy, he must find a witch, pierce her heart, and draw her blood for his cure.

Celeste must escape the monks who have held her prisoner for years. Her magic has been kept dormant by her captors. An ancient powerful Warloc craves her powers. If he succeeds in devouring her magic, she and the world will die.

When Brock falls in love with Celeste before realizing her demise is his cure, will love triumph over his desire to be healed? Will he risk everything to save her from a Warloc, an oath breaker, who also wants her dead?

About The Author

Andrea has always enjoyed creating characters and stories. But it wasn’t until she was in her late twenties that she started writing novels.
What happened that ignited the writing flame in her fingers? Divorced, and disillusioned by love songs and stories. They exaggerate. She thought. Love and Romance are not like that in the real world. Then she met her husband and realized, yes love and romance are exactly like the songs and stories say. She is now a happy wife, and a mom to three kids (two boys and a girl).
Once she heard about a writer who never let her characters deviate from the script. If they did, she just killed them. How sad, she thought. For her one of the best parts of being a writer is letting the characters have a mind of their own and seeing where the story takes them.

She loves this quote from Robert Frost, which sums up her opinion on allowing the characters their freedom: “No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader.”
― Robert Frost

Andrea writes fantasy, paranormal, and historical romance. When not writing or reading, one may find Andrea dancing in Zumba.
She believes in the power of change and counting each moment as a blessing. But most importantly, she believes in love.
Even if she has to fight for it.

***

My Review

Rating: 4 glasses of Wine

I loved this book! I enjoy reading a lot of fantasy (though I haven’t read some in a while) and I think I’ve found a new author to pursue. This story was so fast-paced, it kept the action coming and kept me on the edge of my seat.

I love a book that put a new spin on the familiar favourites and this book had a spin I’ve never seen before. A vampire elf? I’ve never seen that before. I was a little bit apprehensive at first, because unless it was something out of The Vampire Diaries with hybrids, then I really couldn’t see it working. But once the explanation is clear, it all makes sense and it forms a story that is bizarre, eccentric, but so, so, good.

Cooper manages to weave a magical world that comes to life in your brain. Her story and writing gave me goosebumps on so many levels. When you throw a vampire elf, a witch and a quest together, the story starts to brew into a fantasy novel that is off the charts. I think the only thing I didn’t like was the ending. It ended to fast and left me hanging, but here’s hoping we’ll get a second book soon.

So hurry up Andrea!

***

You guys can find more about this book by clicking on the following links:

Goodreads
Amazon
Barnes&Noble
Kalahari.com(Paperback)
Kalahari.com(ebook)

2 thoughts on “Like a Dagger to a Witch’s Heart. Andrea R. Cooper had me on the edge of my seat with The Garnet Dagger **Review**

  1. Thank you for your wonderful review. I’m thrilled you enjoyed it. Yes, Son of Dragons the second novel in this series, is with a beta reader and I hope to have it edited and to my publisher for approval before spring 😉

What's your thoughts?

