So Emotional…Hurdles: When Cancer Strikes A Family by Michael Kesler **Review**

Hey Bookishlovers, I  hope you all had a fantastic Christmas. I was originally going to take a break from blogging until the new year, because my mind is completely fried, but I read this book and it touched me so much that I just had to share it with you. So please, read on.

Synopsis

Hurdles presents true episodes in the lives of my wife, a pediatrician; myself-the author-a chemical engineer; and of our four young children. Having survived World War II, we arrive in this country and achieve professional prominence and an enviable lifestyle. When, however, my wife’s breast cyst turns malignant, I stumble, losing my business as well as sanity. I soon recover and muster my strength to help my children overcome the hurdles posed by their mother’s illness and death. My intensely personal story addresses the scourge of women’s breast cancer from a husband and father’s viewpoints. The book offers a heartrending story of a family’s distress and resilience, love and devotion, and the ultimate triumph of the human spirit. It should be of particular interest to the 200,000 women afflicted with the disease in the United States each year.

About The Author

Michael G. Kesler, Ph.D., is a graduate of MIT and NYU. Since his retirement in 2006, he has written of his experiences during World War II. His recent book, Shards of War-Fleeing To & From Uzbekistan, has won praise from a number of academics and was listed among the bestselling e-books in Europe. He is completing a screenplay of Shards of War and writing a novella, Hope-My Year in a DP Camp. The author and his wife, Barbara S. Reed, Ph. D., live in East Brunswick, New Jersey, and proudly head a family of six children and 11 grandchildren. Contributor Howard Paul, Ph.D., ABPP, FAClinP, an internationally prominent clinical psychologist, has spent 47 years in academia and private practice. He has authored a book and numerous papers in behavioral sciences. He resides in North Brunswick, New Jersey. Publisher’s website: http: //sbprabooks.com/MichaelGKesler

*Synopsis and information about the author has been borrowed from Goodreads.

My Review

Rating: 5 Glasses of Wine

I admit I was filled with apprehension when I started reading this book. Reading about cancer is never easy for any one, but as a woman reading about breast cancer, well it’s never really easy. Filled with emotion and pain, this book provoked a reaction from me that I haven’t received from a book in a long time.

Michael Kesler documents his wife’s struggles with cancer in his book Hurdles: When Cancer Strikes A Family. I can’t even begin to imagine what it must have been like for the author to go through everything he has gone through in his life and then to lose his wife to the horrible disease, I tell you, my heart bled like mad whilst reading this book.

I’ve always known the risks and dangers of breast cancer, but reading through this novel made realise exactly how bad it can get. I cried more than a few times throughout this book, but there was one part that really stood out for me. The way Michael Kesler managed to describe his wife’s anger and pain at losing her femininity during an emergency mastectomy was brilliant and filled me with sadness.

If there was one thing this book really provoked in me was to go get a check-up as soon as possible. It proved to me how fast the cancer spread throughout your body without you even knowing about. It broke my heart but I think Michael Kesler needs to be thanked for putting the pain that his family went through, down on paper.

So thank you Michael Kesler, for writing this book and sharing your pain with us.

You can find this book on  Goodreads, Amazon (Paperback), Amazon (Kindle Edition) or on Barnes&Noble (Paperback), Barnes&Noble (Ebook)

What's your thoughts?

