Review: Baiting The Boss by Colleen Kwan

Boss

Disclaimer: I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.

When I picked up this book, I thought I was about to embark on an island adventure. But  I was sorely disappointed. Sure it does feature an island, but only for part of it.

Grace Owens is Lachlan Macintyre’s,( CEO of Macintyre Industries) Special Project Coordinator, which is basically just a glorified title for “Shit no-one else wants to do.” She’s sent to haul his grandson’s ass back to civilization. Said grandson, also known as Jack Macintyre, run off after the death of his wife three years ago. He has some beef with his grandfather and doesn’t want to go back. Grace, always on top of her job, (though I don’t know why she works her ass off for an idiot like Lachlan if he doesn’t offer her any other opportunities) keeps on persuading until Jack’s resolve is broken and he decides at the last moment that he needs to go back home.

This book really had the potential to impress me, but it didn’t. I didn’t like any of the characters. Jack ran away from his problems (understandable, but dude, you have responsibilities back home, grieve there,) got pissed at his grandfather who gave him the only advice he ever knew. Refused to step up and do what he was born to do, though in the end he did kind of. Grace irritated me into the deepest depths of my soul. Seriously, woman? You spend years being a lackey and still won’t get another job because you want to buy an apartment that is way too expensive? Okay, she also came right, but it took her forever. Lachlan… I can think of worse words than idiot, but hey, I’m watching my language.

On a positive note, the love that unfolded was kind of sweet, the love scenes were hot and the sleepy-dreamy love scene was amazingly written. In fact this book isn’t bad, it just didn’t impress me all that much.

What's your thoughts?

